Who is the first Indian badminton player to won the gold medal at the Commonwealth Games in Australia?

Padukone won the national senior championship in 1971 at age 16, thereby becoming the youngest player to have achieved the feat. He won each successive national championship until 1979, setting a record of nine national titles in a row. In 1978 he won the singles badminton gold medal at the Commonwealth Games.

>> Click to

Accordingly, how many Commonwealth Games medals have Australia won in badminton?

Australians have won 11 badminton medals at the Commonwealth Games.

Moreover, how many times has Australia won Commonwealth Games? Australia has hosted the Commonwealth Games on four occasions but have only won
Year Host City, State Years Between
1962 British Empire and Commonwealth Games Perth, Western Australia 24

Herein, is badminton in the Commonwealth Games?

Badminton is a core sport in the Commonwealth Games and has featured in every Games since its debut in Kingston in 1966.

Who is better Saina or Sindhu?

Although Saina Nehwal still commands the head-to-head against PV Sindhu, having won everytime against the Rio silver medalist except once, it is Sindhu who fares better otherwise.

Who is known as father of badminton?

Nandu Natekar was a true artist of his art (Badminton). Natekar first represented India in 1953 at the age of 20. He is referred as the father of Indian Badminton and was the first Indian badminton player to get an international medal for the nation.

What is the old name of badminton?


Which country is famous for badminton?


Which country won the last Commonwealth Games?


Year Commonwealth Games 1930
Host city Hamilton
Host nation Canada
Opened by Viscount Willingdon
Sports 6

Which country has won the most Commonwealth Games medals?


Rank CGA Total
1 Australia (AUS) 2416
2 England (ENG) 2144
3 Canada (CAN) 1555
4 India (IND) 503

Who won the gold medal in 2010 Commonwealth Games?


Medal Name Event
Gold Abhinav Bindra Gagan Narang Men’s 10m Air rifle pairs
Gold Anisa Sayyed Rahi Sarnobat Women’s 25m pistol pairs
Gold Ravinder Singh Men’s Greco-Roman 60 kg
Gold Anil Kumar Men’s Greco-Roman 96 kg

Leave a Comment