If the spin or wind brings the ball back over the net to the side of the player(s) who hit the shot, the opponent(s) may then reach over the net and play the ball. They may not touch the net or the opponent’s court. This is the only situation when a player may reach over the net to play a ball.
Beside above, why does a tennis ball bounce back up?
When you drop the ball, gravity pulls it down and it picks up speed. It hits the ground and squashes at the moment of impact. As the squashed ball springs back to its original shape, it pushes on the floor and the floor pushes back. The force of the floor pushing against the ball throws the ball back up into the air.
Just so, what is the term if the ball hits the net on your serve and bounces in tennis?
A serve (or, more formally, a service) in tennis is a shot to start a point. … If the ball contacts the net on the serve but then proceeds to the proper service box, it is called a let; this is not a legal serve in the major tours (but see below) although it is also not a fault.
Can you reach over the net to hit a ball in tennis?
Your racquet can cross the net as long as it never touches it. This does not mean you can just start reaching across the net to hit balls before they come to your side. For the “Friend at Court” handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the rules and regulations homepage.
When all three balls are dropped from the same height, the rubber ball will bounce the highest because it has the greatest elasticity. When the rubber ball hits the ground it gets compressed, or squished, and because it is very elastic, it quickly returns to its original shape.
A player must have control of his/her racket when he/she hits the ball. That means, a player can’t drop or throw a racket to hit the ball, and the player loses the point if the ball touches a dropped or thrown racket.
Why is it Called a Let? Although there is no exclusively agreed-upon answer, one common and widely accepted explanation is that the word ‘let’ originates from the Old Saxon word ‘lettian,’ which means ‘to hinder. … Alternatively, the term could come from the French word ‘filet’ which translates to ‘net.
In tennis, hitting around the net post is completely legal because the rulebook has no restrictions on the height of the ball, meaning that the ball does not have to travel above the height of the net in order to be considered a legal shot.