First and second
A first serve is made when there has been no fault on the point; a second serve occurs when there has already been one fault on the point. On a second serve, the server is in danger of losing the point if there is another fault.
Accordingly, how do you hit a 2nd serve in tennis?
Similarly, how do you hit a topspin second serve?
Why do they say let instead of net in tennis?
Why is it Called a Let? Although there is no exclusively agreed-upon answer, one common and widely accepted explanation is that the word ‘let’ originates from the Old Saxon word ‘lettian,’ which means ‘to hinder. … Alternatively, the term could come from the French word ‘filet’ which translates to ‘net.
The player or team who was receiving in the last game of the first set will serve first in the second set. In other words, the alternating of serves continues in the same manner.
Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal are tops in second-serve point success over the past year, with 59.4 percent and 59 percent of those points won, respectively. Djokovic is also winning matches. Through five matches in Melbourne, he has dropped only a single set.
We do not jump in the serve for power (or any other stroke). This is important, because it is a fundamentally misunderstood part of biomechanics at all levels of tennis. We do not jump for power. When we jump, we are at our maximum velocity in the instant we leave the ground.
Your racquet can cross the net as long as it never touches it. This does not mean you can just start reaching across the net to hit balls before they come to your side. For the “Friend at Court” handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the rules and regulations homepage.