There is no limit to the number of serve let calls during any given point. Keep in mind that if the ball hits the net and doesn’t land in the correct service box, it’s not a let.
Also to know is, are lets allowed in tennis?
Let – a serve is called a let when the ball hits the net cord but still lands in the service court. Such a serve is not considered a fault and the server may repeat the service attempt.
Hereof, why do they say let instead of net in tennis?
The name LET is used because the attempt at service is not counted. As a player, you are letting the ball pass, hence the name let. The server gets a second attempt at whichever service it is, the first or the second. It can be a let first serve or a let second serve.
Why is it called love in tennis?
The origins of ‘love’ as a score lie in the figure zero’s resemblance to an egg. In sport, it’s common to refer to a nil or nought score as a duck or goose egg, and the French word for egg is l’oeuf – the pronunciation of which isn’t too far removed from the English ‘love’.
In professional-level tennis, an umpire is the one who calls “let.” In a casual match-up, the players can either designate a third party or agree that both players should agree on a call. You can also assign a “no-let” rule in a casual match, where no lets can be called in the game. This can lead to a speedier match.
If you serve a ball that hits the top of the net before bouncing into the correct service box, it is called a let. You may take that serve again. If the ball hits the net and lands outside the correct service box, it’s a fault. A served ball hitting the post is also a fault.
Your racquet can cross the net as long as it never touches it. This does not mean you can just start reaching across the net to hit balls before they come to your side. For the “Friend at Court” handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the rules and regulations homepage.