Your racquet can cross the net as long as it never touches it. This does not mean you can just start reaching across the net to hit balls before they come to your side. For the “Friend at Court” handbook and more information on the rules of tennis, visit the rules and regulations homepage.
Also to know is, what happens if your racket hits the net in tennis?
If a served ball touches the net but lands in, it is replayed because the net interfered. On any other shot in the game, however, if the ball touches the net and lands in, it remains in play. You lose the point if you fail to return an opponent’s good shot before the second bounce.
Regarding this, is hitting the net a fault in tennis?
A ball that hits the net cord but lands outside the service box is still a fault. On serve – both players have held each of their service games in the set or had an equal number of service breaks in the set, putting them “back on serve”.
Is it legal to serve underhand in tennis?
Although unconventional, the rules allow for underhand serving in tennis. As long as the ball is hit with the racquet prior to hitting the ground, it doesn’t matter if it was released in an upward or downward motion.
Answer: You are correct. If it was one continuous motion, without a second intentional swing or push, then it is a legal shot even if it hit your racquet twice in the one swing. It is also your call to make and not your opponent’s.
A served ball that hits the net does not result in the service team losing its serve. The net serve is considered in-play, unless 1) it does not continue over the net or 2) lands outside the opposing team’s court-side untouched by the opposing team.
A player shall not call a ball out unless the player clearly sees space between where the ball hits and a line.
A player must have control of his/her racket when he/she hits the ball. That means, a player can’t drop or throw a racket to hit the ball, and the player loses the point if the ball touches a dropped or thrown racket.
As one local club puts it in its etiquette guide, “It is polite to apologise when you win a point mainly because the ball hits the net cord and do try to sound like you mean it even if everyone knows you don’t.” But apologising for a winning shot is almost uniquely a feature of tennis – it just doesn’t happen in most …