You are not allowed to reach over the net to play your shot. Provided you make contact with the shuttle on your side, however, your racket may then pass over the net during your follow-through action.
One may also ask, what is over the net fault badminton?
Over The Net Fault in Badminton. If the shuttle has been hit by a player who presumes it will come over the net, when it wasn’t passing the net, it is said to be a fault. The shuttle must always pass over the net for the player to continue the point.
Likewise, people ask, what happens if the shuttlecock hits the net and goes over the net?
In badminton terms, we call this Net Cord. The Net Cord is used to describe the situation when a shuttlecock hits the top part of the net (the tape) and tumbles either on either side of the court. … You win the rally if the shuttlecock drops to the other side of the court as a result of the Net Cord.
What is not allowed in playing badminton?
In badminton, the serve must be hit in an upwards direction, with an underarm hitting action. You are not allowed to play a tennis style serve. The main rule here is that when you hit the shuttle, it must be below your waist. To be exact, the rules define this to be a height level with the lowest part of your ribcage.
If the server’s shuttle touches the net or goes out of bounds of the court, the receiving player/side wins the point. The shaft and head of the server’s racket should point downwards when the shuttle is hit during a serve and the server’s racket should initially hit the shuttle on its base.
In badminton, there is only one situation where a FAULT can be called twice at the same time, and it is this situation that I am labelling a “double fault” in this article! The situation arises when an umpire calls a fault for the receiver of a serve at the same time as the service judge calls a fault for the server.
One strong reason to why you cannot execute a jumping smash is the technique you are using. The badminton jump smash is an advanced technique. In order to execute the perfect jump smash, you’ll need strong badminton basics. You’ll also need a lot of practice to master this technique.
Hitting the shuttle out
The easiest and the most common Badminton fault of all! Yes, hitting the shuttle out is considered a fault.
If a served ball touches the net but lands in, it is replayed because the net interfered. On any other shot in the game, however, if the ball touches the net and lands in, it remains in play. You lose the point if you fail to return an opponent’s good shot before the second bounce.
Ordinarily, you are not allowed to reach over the net to hit the ball in tennis. Your racquet may cross over the net as long as you make contact with the ball on your side of the net, though. You or your racquet cannot touch the net at all or you lose the point.