Can the ball bounce twice in tennis?

(b) Double bounces: A player can’t play a ball that has bounced twice and is also responsible for making a double bounce call on his/her side. (See USTA The Code p. … (c) Lets: Since the net is between the two sides of the court, any player or opponent can call a let if the ball hits the net during a serve.

>> Click to

Likewise, how many times can the ball bounce on your side for tennis?


There is no restriction on where the ball lands on your side or your opponent’s side of the table. It can bounce two or more times on your opponent’s side (if so, that’s your point), bounce over the side, or even hit the edge.

In this manner, how many times can you have a let in tennis? There is no limit to the number of serve let calls during any given point. Keep in mind that if the ball hits the net and doesn’t land in the correct service box, it’s not a let.

Also, why can’t you touch the net in tennis?

In tennis, hitting around the net post is completely legal because the rulebook has no restrictions on the height of the ball, meaning that the ball does not have to travel above the height of the net in order to be considered a legal shot.

Can you hit a tennis serve before it bounces?

The server may serve underhand, but he or she may not bounce the ball before hitting it. The server may not serve before the receiver is ready. The receiver must let the serve bounce before touching it. … On any other shot in the game, however, if the ball touches the net and lands in, it remains in play.

What happens if a tennis ball spins back over the net?

If the spin or wind brings the ball back over the net to the side of the player(s) who hit the shot, the opponent(s) may then reach over the net and play the ball. They may not touch the net or the opponent’s court. This is the only situation when a player may reach over the net to play a ball.

Leave a Comment